James E. West Fellowship Award

This award is named after James E. West who was the first Chief Scout Executive of the Boy Scouts of America. Dr. West exemplified Ralph Waldo Emerson’s observation that “an institution is the lengthened shadow of one man.” Scouting today is the “lengthened shadow” of more than three decades of the farseeing and dedicated leadership of Dr. James E. West. Those who are recognized by the James E. West Fellowship Award will cast their own “lengthened shadow” as they help ensure the Scouting legacy for future generations of young people and create financial stability for the Council.

A gift to a local council, designated by the donor to the Council endowment fund, qualifies for membership as a James E. West fellow. The gift must be in addition to—and not replace or diminish—the donor’s annual Friends of Scouting support. Membership starts with a minimum gift of $1,000 in cash or marketable securities.  Donors may make cumulative gifts to reach Silver, Gold, and Diamond member levels. For example, 5 years of giving at the Bronze level would qualify for Silver level membership.  All gifts can be pledged and payable over time.

Individuals and corporations may make these gifts either on behalf of someone else—such as in honor of an Eagle Scout, Silver Beaver recipient, Scoutmaster, Cubmaster, a retirement, a special accomplishment, or an anniversary—or in memory of a special individual. The award is presented with a certificate, a lapel pin, and a square knot to wear on the uniform.

To receive the James E. West Fellowship Award, please complete and submit the application below. 

Award Levels

Application & Process 

Please fill out the James E. West Fellowship Application and return it to the W. D. Boyce Council. 

Completed forms may be emailed to Ben Blumenberg (ben.blumenberg@scouting.org) or mailed to:

WD Boyce Council, BSA – Attn: Ben Blumenberg
Peoria Scout Service Center
614 NE Madison Ave. 
Peoria, Illinois 61603